Watch Demo×

See NinjaOne in action!

By submitting this form, I accept NinjaOne's privacy policy.

What Is SDLC? Software Development Lifecycle Explained

In information technology, certain processes aid in structuring the work to be more efficient and predictable. One such process is the Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC). This article aims to provide a comprehensive understanding of what SDLC is, why it holds significance in the IT and software development world, how it functions, and the different models that exist.

What is SDLC?

The Software Development Life Cycle, often abbreviated as SDLC, is a systematic process followed by organizations for developing high-quality software. It consists of a detailed plan outlining the ways to develop, maintain, replace, and enhance specific software. The cycle includes several stages, often referred to as SDLC phases, which cover everything from planning and creating to testing, deploying, and maintaining software.

Why is SDLC important?

Understanding the application development life cycle is crucial for successful project management. It provides a defined framework and a sequence of SDLC steps to follow, which helps avoid project chaos and unmanaged growth. It allows development teams to break down the entire software development process into manageable segments, ensuring efficient product delivery.

Furthermore, the SDLC ensures the highest quality of software delivery, lowers the cost of development, and reduces the time taken from planning to delivery. It also improves client relations and helps to achieve customer satisfaction by meeting their expectations.

7 stages of the software development lifecycle

The SDLC is typically comprised of seven stages, each vital to the overall success of a project.

  1. Planning: This is the initial phase, where the project’s objectives, scope, and procedures are defined. This also includes an analysis of potential risks and challenges.
  2. Requirements: In this phase, the specific requirements of the software are gathered from the client, stakeholder, or end-user. These requirements provide the foundation for the design and development of the project.
  3. Design: During this stage, the software’s architecture is designed. This involves creating detailed design documents that serve as a blueprint for the actual software development.
  4. Development or coding: In this phase, the software is actually developed according to the design document. This is usually the longest phase of the lifecycle.
  5. Testing: Here, the developed software is thoroughly tested for any errors, bugs, or issues. This ensures that the final product is as bug-free as possible before it is deployed.
  6. Deployment: Once the software is tested and approved for release, it is deployed to the market or handed over to the client.
  7. Maintenance: In the final stage, the software is maintained by implementing updates and improvements as necessary. This ensures that the software continues to function well in the long term.

Types of SDLC models

There are several SDLC methodologies or SDLC models that organizations can choose from based on their specific needs. Some popular ones include:

  • Waterfall Model: A linear sequential flow where progress is seen as flowing steadily downwards, similar to a waterfall.
  • Agile Model: Emphasizes continuous iteration of development and testing in the software development process.
  • Iterative Model: Involves repeating the SDLC steps in cycles, with each cycle producing a software version.
  • Spiral Model: Combines the design phase of the waterfall model and the iterative philosophy of prototyping.
  • DevOps Model: Aims to unify software development (Dev) and software operation (Ops). The DevOps definition highlights a culture where developers and operations teams collaborate closely, share responsibilities, and combine their workflows. It’s considered an evolution of the agile methodology.

SDLC: The Backbone of Efficient Software Development

Understanding the Software Development Life Cycle is essential for anyone involved in delivering software products. Whatever the type of software in development, the SDLC provides the necessary structure and clarity. By following the SDLC steps and choosing the right SDLC model, businesses can ensure quality, reduce costs, increase efficiency, and ultimately deliver a software product that meets the expectations of the clients or end-users.

Ready to become an IT Ninja?

Learn how NinjaOne can help you simplify IT operations.