Watch Demo×

See NinjaOne in action!

By submitting this form, I accept NinjaOne's privacy policy.

What Is Secure Sockets Layer (SSL)?

The security of online data and transactions is vital for anyone who uses the internet, whether for personal browsing or running an online business. SSL (Secure Sockets Layer) is the cornerstone of online security, protecting sensitive information such as login credentials and credit card details. In this comprehensive guide, we will explore the intricacies of SSL, its significance, how it works, the different types of SSL certificates, and a step-by-step process for obtaining an SSL certificate. 

What is SSL?

Secure Sockets Layer, commonly known as SSL, is a protocol that employs encryption to ensure the secure transmission of data over the internet, and it also uses certificates to authenticate the identity of the parties involved in digital communication. SSL establishes an encrypted link between a web server and a browser, safeguarding sensitive information from being intercepted by unauthorized parties. Websites with SSL enabled will use HTTPS in the URL and display a padlock icon in the URL address bar. 

Transport Layer Security (TLS) is the successor to SSL, aiming to provide a more secure way of transmitting data over the internet. While both protocols serve the same purpose, TLS has undergone various iterations to address vulnerabilities found in SSL.

Why is SSL/TLS important?

The implementation of SSL/TLS is vital for several reasons. Firstly, it ensures data integrity, preventing unauthorized alteration of information during transmission. Secondly, it authenticates the website’s identity, reassuring users of its legitimacy and contributing significantly to the credibility of a website. Lastly, SSL encryption protects sensitive information such as personal details, login credentials, and payment data from interception by cybercriminals.

How does SSL/TLS work?

SSL operates through a combination of asymmetric and symmetric encryption to secure the data being transmitted. When a user connects to a website that’s secured with SSL/TLS, the server sends a digital certificate, which includes the public key necessary to initiate secure communication. The browser then uses the website’s public key to encrypt a random symmetric encryption key, which is sent back to the server where a private key is used to decrypt the data.

What is an SSL certificate?

An SSL certificate is a data file that enables the use of HTTPS and establishes an encrypted link between a web server and a browser. The SSL Certificate contains a public key and a private key. The public key encrypts information, while the private key decrypts it. An SSL Certificate also provides authentication by validating the server’s identity and assures the client that the server is indeed who it claims to be.

SSL certificates have a set lifespan and need to be renewed before they expire to prevent service disruption and potential security risks. SSL certificate monitoring is essential for catching SSL/TLS errors and keeping certificates up-to-date so that the website continues to provide a secure connection for its users.

Types of SSL certificates

  • Domain Validated (DV) SSL certificates

Domain Validated (DV) SSL certificates provide a basic level of security. These only require proof of domain ownership for validation and are ideal for small websites and blogs.

  • Organization Validated (OV) SSL certificates

Organization Validated (OV) SSL certificates add an extra layer of security by requiring not only proof of domain ownership but also verification of certain details of the requesting organization. These certificates are suitable for business websites,

  • Extended Validation (EV) SSL certificates

Extended Validation (EV) SSL certificates undergo a rigorous validation process, confirming the legal entity behind the website. Websites using EV certificates display a prominent green address bar, signifying the highest level of security and trust.

Obtaining an SSL certificate

Obtaining an SSL certificate involves the following steps:

  • Determine the right SSL certificate for your website.

Select the type of SSL certificate that aligns with your website’s needs and the required security level.

  • Generate and submit a Certificate Signing Request (CSR)

A CSR is a file containing your website’s details, including the public key. Submit the generated CSR to a Certificate Authority (CA) for validation and issuance of the SSL certificate.

  • Install the SSL certificate

Once issued, install the SSL certificate on your web server, ensuring secure HTTPS connections.

  • Update website links

Update all website links to utilize the HTTPS protocol for a seamless transition to secure browsing.


SSL plays a pivotal role in securing the integrity and confidentiality of online communication. Knowing the different types of SSL certificates and how to obtain them empowers website owners to make informed decisions to fortify their online presence. Implementing this crucial security measure enables websites to offer a safer online experience for users.

Ready to become an IT Ninja?

Learn how NinjaOne can help you simplify IT operations.