What Is CMMC? Overview and Definition

There are plenty of standards in the IT world, such as the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC). This blog post aims to shed light on what CMMC is, its importance, the different levels of CMMC, and whether every business needs it.

What is CMMC?

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification, better known as CMMC, is a unified standard for implementing cybersecurity across the Defense Industrial Base (DIB) in the United States. It comprises a set of cybersecurity practices and processes designed to protect sensitive data, particularly Federal Contract Information (FCI) and Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI).

Why is CMMC Important?

In an era where cyber threats are increasingly prevalent, CMMC serves as a critical framework for ensuring robust cybersecurity measures. It is not just a certification; it represents an organization’s commitment to securing data and demonstrates its ability to safeguard sensitive information.

The 5 levels of CMMC

  1. Level 1 – Basic cyber hygiene: This level involves basic cybersecurity practices like using antivirus software and regularly updating systems. It sets the foundation for higher-level security practices.
  2. Level 2 – Intermediate cyber hygiene: At this level, organizations should establish and document standard operating procedures, policies, and strategic plans to guide their cybersecurity efforts.
  3. Level 3 – Good cyber hygiene: Here, companies need to have a plan demonstrating the management of practice implementation across the organization. The focus is on protecting CUI.
  4. Level 4 – Proactive: Organizations at this level are not just reactive but proactive in their approach to cybersecurity. They have advanced and sophisticated cybersecurity practices in place.
  5. Level 5 – Advanced/progressive: This is the highest level of CMMC. Organizations at this level have highly advanced cybersecurity practices and show a capability to optimize their cybersecurity processes.

Does every business need CMMC?

Primarily, businesses dealing with U.S. Department of Defense (DoD) contracts need to comply with CMMC. However, considering the rise in cyber threats, any business that values data security might find it beneficial to adopt the practices outlined in CMMC.


CMMC is more than just a cybersecurity standard; it is a testament to an organization’s commitment to data protection. While it is currently required for DoD contractors, its principles are universally applicable and can significantly enhance any organization’s cybersecurity posture.

Ready to become an IT Ninja?

Learn how NinjaOne can help you simplify IT operations.

Watch Demo×

See NinjaOne in action!

By submitting this form, I accept NinjaOne's privacy policy.

Start a Free Trial of the
#1 Endpoint Management Software on G2

No credit card required, full access to all features