Watch Demo×

See NinjaOne in action!

What Is Access Control List (ACL)?

Access Control List (ACL) blog banner

For IT teams and MSPs, security is of paramount importance. One cannot emphasize enough the need for robust measures that ensure the protection of data and systems. Amidst a plethora of security mechanisms, the Access Control List (ACL) holds a significant place. This post aims to shed light on the concept of ACL, its purpose, functionality, types, and why it is a crucial component in IT security.

What is access control list (ACL)?

An Access Control List, often abbreviated as ACL, is a list that can be defined as a set of rules. These rules are designed to provide a certain level of control over the access to a network or system. Primarily, an ACL dictates who can access which resources, and what operations they can perform on those resources. This list may contain users, groups, or computational entities like processes or devices.

Why use access control list (ACL)?

The question that arises is why an Access Control List should be used. The answer lies in the enhancement of security it provides. An ACL offers a granular control over access to resources. It allows administrators to define and enforce policies that restrict unauthorized access and protect sensitive information from potential threats. Furthermore, it aids in maintaining audit trails by keeping a record of who accessed what, when, and how. With ACL and network management best practices, IT teams are able to protect their network and its data from outside threats.

How does access control list (ACL) work?

The working mechanism of an ACL is relatively straightforward. When a user or entity attempts to access a resource, the ACL is checked. If the list contains a rule that permits the access, the operation proceeds. Conversely, if the ACL contains a rule that denies the access, or if there is no rule pertaining to the user or entity, the access is denied. In this way, an ACL functions as a gatekeeper, regulating access based on predefined rules.

5 types of access control list (ACL)

  1. Standard ACLs: These are fundamental and offer a simple form of packet filtering. Standard ACLs control traffic by comparing the source address of IP packets to the addresses configured in the ACL. 
  2. Extended ACLs: These provide more granular control than standard ACLs. They can filter traffic based on protocol, port, source IP address, and destination IP address. 
  3. Dynamic ACLs: These are also known as lock-and-key ACLs. Dynamic ACLs allow administrators to grant users temporary access to certain areas of the network. 
  4. Reflexive ACLs: These are used to allow IP packets to return to the sender. Reflexive ACLs are created and deleted dynamically and help to enhance network security. 
  5. Time-based ACLs: These allow administrators to limit access to a network or device based on the time of day and day of the week.

Final thoughts for access control lists (ACLs)

Without a doubt, Access Control List (ACL) is a vital tool for maintaining security in an IT environment. With its ability to provide granular control over access to resources, it serves as a formidable line of defense against unauthorized access and potential threats. As cyber threats continue to evolve, the significance of security mechanisms like ACLs cannot be understated. It is, therefore, imperative that organizations and individuals alike understand and utilize such tools effectively to safeguard their systems and data.

Next Steps

Building an efficient and effective IT team requires a centralized solution that acts as your core service deliver tool. NinjaOne enables IT teams to monitor, manage, secure, and support all their devices, wherever they are, without the need for complex on-premises infrastructure.

Learn more about Ninja Endpoint Management, check out a live tour, or start your free trial of the NinjaOne platform.

You might also like

Ready to become an IT Ninja?

Learn how NinjaOne can help you simplify IT operations.

By clicking the “I Accept” button below, you indicate your acceptance of the following legal terms as well as our Terms of Use:

  • Ownership Rights: NinjaOne owns and will continue to own all right, title, and interest in and to the script (including the copyright). NinjaOne is giving you a limited license to use the script in accordance with these legal terms.
  • Use Limitation: You may only use the script for your legitimate personal or internal business purposes, and you may not share the script with another party.
  • Republication Prohibition: Under no circumstances are you permitted to re-publish the script in any script library belonging to or under the control of any other software provider.
  • Warranty Disclaimer: The script is provided “as is” and “as available”, without warranty of any kind. NinjaOne makes no promise or guarantee that the script will be free from defects or that it will meet your specific needs or expectations.
  • Assumption of Risk: Your use of the script is at your own risk. You acknowledge that there are certain inherent risks in using the script, and you understand and assume each of those risks.
  • Waiver and Release: You will not hold NinjaOne responsible for any adverse or unintended consequences resulting from your use of the script, and you waive any legal or equitable rights or remedies you may have against NinjaOne relating to your use of the script.
  • EULA: If you are a NinjaOne customer, your use of the script is subject to the End User License Agreement applicable to you (EULA).