How to enable or disable fast user switching in Windows 10. If you're sharing a Windows 10 PC with other users, the fast user switching feature can save you time and your open apps. We'll show you how to configure it here. Before we begin, be sure to subscribe to Ninja One's IT Video Hub and our YouTube channel for more tech content like this. What is fast user switching? Fast user switching is a feature in Windows 10 that allows multiple users to sign into a computer and switch between accounts without logging out the current user. This means you can pick up right where you left off with no need to close your applications or lose unsaved work. Benefits and drawbacks. Fast user switching is especially helpful in homes with multiple users or shared office workstations. Everyone gets to keep their settings files and open programs intact without waiting for someone else to log off. However, it isn't perfect. Running multiple user sessions can eat up memory and increase CPU usage. Slowing things down, especially on lower end machines, plus leaving sessions open may increase the risk if someone else gains physical access. With all this considered, how do you enable or disable this feature? How to enable or disable fast user switching in Windows 10. To manage fast user switching, you'll need the local group policy editor, gp, edit. Do MSC first press, win plus R type GP edit dot msc, and hit enter. Navigate to computer configuration, administrative templates, plates system, and then logo. On next, double click hide entry points for fast user switching. To enable it choose not configured or enabled, then click okay to disable it, choose disabled, then click. Okay. How to verify if fast user switching is working to check. If fast user switching is active, press control plus alt plus delete. If switch user is an option, you're good to go. You can also open task manager with Control plus shift, plus escape and click the user's tab. If more than one user is listed, fast user switching is active. When to enable or disable fast user switching. Ultimately, when should you enable or disable fast user switching? Enable it. If you share a family or office pc or you have separate accounts for work and personal use, disable it. If you're running resource heavy apps, you need to lock down access for security reasons, or your PC has limited memory or processing power. In the end, whether you own multiple accounts or you're part of a shared computing setup, managing fast user switching can optimize both security and performance. For more information, check out our official blog post on configuring fast user switching LinkedIn, the description below.

How to Enable or Disable Fast User Switching in Windows 10

If you’re sharing a Windows 10 PC with other users, you might benefit from Fast User Switching, which allows you to switch from one user profile to another without closing any programs or losing data. In this video, we’ll teach you how to enable or disable Fast User Switching in Windows 10 and discuss this feature’s benefits and drawbacks.

Read the full blog on How to Enable or Disable Fast User Switching in Windows 10

Never miss a NinjaOne video!