Watch Demo×

See NinjaOne in action!

What Is CMMC? Overview and Definition

what is CMMC blog banner image

There are plenty of standards in the IT world, such as the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC). This blog post aims to shed light on what CMMC is, its importance, the different levels of CMMC, and whether every business needs it.

What is CMMC?

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification, better known as CMMC, is a unified standard for implementing cybersecurity across the Defense Industrial Base (DIB) in the United States. It comprises a set of cybersecurity practices and processes designed to protect sensitive data, particularly Federal Contract Information (FCI) and Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI).

Why is CMMC Important?

In an era where cyber threats are increasingly prevalent, CMMC serves as a critical framework for ensuring robust cybersecurity measures. It is not just a certification; it represents an organization’s commitment to securing data and demonstrates its ability to safeguard sensitive information.

The 5 levels of CMMC

  1. Level 1 – Basic cyber hygiene: This level involves basic cybersecurity practices like using antivirus software and regularly updating systems. It sets the foundation for higher-level security practices.
  2. Level 2 – Intermediate cyber hygiene: At this level, organizations should establish and document standard operating procedures, policies, and strategic plans to guide their cybersecurity efforts.
  3. Level 3 – Good cyber hygiene: Here, companies need to have a plan demonstrating the management of practice implementation across the organization. The focus is on protecting CUI.
  4. Level 4 – Proactive: Organizations at this level are not just reactive but proactive in their approach to cybersecurity. They have advanced and sophisticated cybersecurity practices in place.
  5. Level 5 – Advanced/progressive: This is the highest level of CMMC. Organizations at this level have highly advanced cybersecurity practices and show a capability to optimize their cybersecurity processes.

Does every business need CMMC?

Primarily, businesses dealing with U.S. Department of Defense (DoD) contracts need to comply with CMMC. However, considering the rise in cyber threats, any business that values data security might find it beneficial to adopt the practices outlined in CMMC.


CMMC is more than just a cybersecurity standard; it is a testament to an organization’s commitment to data protection. While it is currently required for DoD contractors, its principles are universally applicable and can significantly enhance any organization’s cybersecurity posture.

Next Steps

Building an efficient and effective IT team requires a centralized solution that acts as your core service deliver tool. NinjaOne enables IT teams to monitor, manage, secure, and support all their devices, wherever they are, without the need for complex on-premises infrastructure.

Learn more about NinjaOne Endpoint Management, check out a live tour, or start your free trial of the NinjaOne platform.

You might also like

Ready to become an IT Ninja?

Learn how NinjaOne can help you simplify IT operations.

By clicking the “I Accept” button below, you indicate your acceptance of the following legal terms as well as our Terms of Use:

  • Ownership Rights: NinjaOne owns and will continue to own all right, title, and interest in and to the script (including the copyright). NinjaOne is giving you a limited license to use the script in accordance with these legal terms.
  • Use Limitation: You may only use the script for your legitimate personal or internal business purposes, and you may not share the script with another party.
  • Republication Prohibition: Under no circumstances are you permitted to re-publish the script in any script library belonging to or under the control of any other software provider.
  • Warranty Disclaimer: The script is provided “as is” and “as available”, without warranty of any kind. NinjaOne makes no promise or guarantee that the script will be free from defects or that it will meet your specific needs or expectations.
  • Assumption of Risk: Your use of the script is at your own risk. You acknowledge that there are certain inherent risks in using the script, and you understand and assume each of those risks.
  • Waiver and Release: You will not hold NinjaOne responsible for any adverse or unintended consequences resulting from your use of the script, and you waive any legal or equitable rights or remedies you may have against NinjaOne relating to your use of the script.
  • EULA: If you are a NinjaOne customer, your use of the script is subject to the End User License Agreement applicable to you (EULA).